F. Harold Roach, president of the Board of Governors, Los Angeles State and County Arboretum (left); Mrs. Peter Douglas, president of the Arboretum Foundation Board of Trustees; County Supervisor Pete Schabarum, and Francis Ching, director of the Department of Arboreta and Botanic Gardens, check out an epiphyllum following the Foundation's annual membership meeting May 16th held in the Demonstration Home Gardens. Over 200 attended.



Photo: Milton Bell

sing. This year's Fiesta is the 10th annual show and will be presented July 7th, 8th, and 9th. Judging from the 30-page program, the forthcoming show holds special promise. Under the leadership of General Chairman Florence Sullivan, a record number of professional and amateur exhibitors are expected to enter the five divisions which this year are bound together under the theme "Around Our Planet With Plants." Among the interesting programs to look forward to are Dr. Glenn Walker's presentations on herbs ranging from their practical use to their occult significance; a program on iris and a program designed especially for young people that offers tips on growing vegetables, both by Joe Littlefield; a program on indoor ornamental plants by Ed Hart; one on bromeliads and their companions by William Paylen; a program on dahlias by Fred McKelvey; and a program on what to do about insects in your garden by Armand Sarinana. Also, in addition to the usual plant sale, there will be each day an auction of rare plants.

New Members, Trustees

W E WISH TO WELCOME two new trustees of the Foundation: Mrs. Anson C. Moore, Curator of Design at the Pasadena Art Museum, and Catherine Mundy, Women's Editor of the Foothill Inter-City Newspapers. Both these ladies are longstanding friends of the Arboretum, Mrs. Mundy's membership in the Foundation going back ten years during which she has written numerous articles about the Arboretum; Mrs. Moore's going back almost to its beginning. A note in the autumn 1951 issue of Lasca Leaves about volunteer workers had this to say: "Mrs. Anson C. Moore has spent many mornings at the Arboretum devoted to masking and backing the many unmounted paintings of the Charles and Josephine Broughton memorial collection of flower paintings and plant illustrations. Besides this, Mrs. Moore has started making herbarium specimens of flowering plant materials growing at the Arboretum."

(Continued on page 44)

We are also pleased to welcome the following new members of the California Arboretum Foundation:

John Paul Anderson Mrs. R. Stanton Avery

Mr. and Mrs. Carroll M. Baker

Dr. Elaine M. Bascette

Mrs. Charles A. Blind Mrs. D. C. Blindbury

Mr. and Mrs. Charles P. Bluth

Otis Booth

Mr. and Mrs. Samuel F. Bowlby

C. Richard Bradley Mrs. Betty Bridge Gino J. Bruno

Mr. and Mrs. James L. Clarke

Mrs. E. L. Cline Paul Colletti

Captain A. G. Davenport, USNR, Ret.

Mr. and Mrs. James L. Degen Mrs. Henri De La Chapelle

Mrs. Allen Dragge Mrs. Paul A. Erskine Joseph N. Field

Floralia Guild — Chapter 20

Mrs. James H. Forgie Mrs. William Freed Mrs. H. C. Froeschle Mrs. Henry G. Fry

Mr. and Mrs. O. B. Gains

Mrs. James C. Galloway Mrs. Romelle Ganley

Mrs. E. H. Golisch Ronald E. Gother

Mr. and Mrs. Ronald E. Gother

Mrs. R. M. Grua Mrs. Julia Gunnoe Mrs. Elenore R. Hamlin

Mr. and Mrs. B. Kenneth Hansen

Mr. and Mrs. Andrew T. Hardit

Mrs. Mary B. Hardy Mrs. Kerstin Harenberg

Mr. and Mrs. Homer L. Hendrix

Mrs. H. G. Hinshaw

Mrs. Lathrop G. Hoffman

Mr. and Mrs. William F. Howe

Mrs. E. Eleanor Ingram

Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Johnston

Dexter D. Jones

Mr. and Mrs. Gordon H. Julien

Vincent Kanowsky Mrs. Julius Kay

Laguna Beach Garden Club

Mrs. Harry E. Laughlin Mrs. Clare R. Leonard

L. L. McDaniel

Mr. and Mrs. Sherman M. McFedries, Jr.

Mrs. Floyd McGowan Mary L. Marshall

Mr. and Mrs. Everett Meek

Mrs. Howard L. Miller

Richard A. Miller Edna E. Nelson Charles J. Norona

Mr. and Mrs. C. J. Pankow

A. George Parker Mrs. Charles Penn Mrs. Jan W. Pluim Samuel Potter, Jr. Harry F. Reilly

Mr. and Mrs. Henry L. Rice

Dr. Irene W. Roberts Mrs. Harry W. Robinson Miss Marlene T. Roth Mrs. Jane E. Schott Miriam Silinsky Mrs. Edward Soza

Vera Joy Stephens Mrs. Marilyn C. Stoke Mrs. Charles Tackett

Mr. & Mrs. Robert B. Taylor

Miss Lois Van Aram Mrs. John F. Verner

Mr. and Mrs. J. Richard Weidlein

Mrs. Eugene Woesner

A vote of thanks is due the following conscientious recruiters:

Don Camphouse

Mrs. Douglas Copley

Mrs. Daniel B. Curtis Mrs. Peter L. Douglas

Mrs. Robert Edwards

George Forman

Mrs. Francis D. Frost, Jr.

Glenn Hight

Mrs. V. T. Gilchrist

Mrs. Alexander King Mrs. C. G. Lanselle Mrs. Leland Larson Mrs. John R. Mage Howard L. Miller Frank Regan Joseph Sprankle, Jr. Mrs. Forrest Q. Stanton Mrs. Charles Tackett



1972. "New members, trustees." Lasca leaves 22, 29,44.

View This Item Online: https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/item/132110

Permalink: https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/partpdf/145035

Holding Institution

Missouri Botanical Garden, Peter H. Raven Library

Sponsored by

Los Angeles Arboretum

Copyright & Reuse

Copyright Status: In copyright. Digitized with the permission of the rights holder.

Rights Holder: The Arboretum Library at the Los Angeles County Arboretum and Botanic

Garden

License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/
Rights: https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/permissions

This document was created from content at the **Biodiversity Heritage Library**, the world's largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. Visit BHL at https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org.