OPINION 1042

DEUTEROSMINTHURUS BÖRNER, 1901 (INSECTA, COLLEMBOLA): DESIGNATION OF A TYPE-SPECIES UNDER THE PLENARY POWERS

RULING.—(1) Under the plenary powers all designations of type-species for the nominal genus *Deuterosminthurus* Börner, 1901, made prior to the present Ruling are hereby set aside, and the nominal species *Smynthurus bicinctus* Koch, in Herrich-Schaeffer 1840, is hereby designated to be the type of that genus.

(2) The generic name *Deuterosminthurus* Börner, 1901 (gender: masculine), type-species, by designation under the plenary powers in (1) above, *Smynthurus bicinctus* Koch, in Herrich-Schaeffer, 1840, is hereby placed on the Official

List of Generic Names in Zoology with the Name Number 2017.

(3) The specific name bicinctus Koch, in Herrich-Schaeffer, 1840, as published in the binomen Smynthurus bicinctus (specific name of type-species of Deuterosminthurus Börner, 1901) is hereby placed on the Official List of Specific Names in Zoology with the Name Number 2558.

HISTORY OF THE CASE (Z.N.(S.) 1998)

The present application was submitted to the office of the Commission by Dr. W. N. Ellis and Dr. P. F. Bellinger in March 1972. The application was sent to the printer on 13 April 1972 and was published on 30 November 1972 in Bull. zool. Nom. 29: 162–164. Public Notice of the possible use of the plenary powers in the present case was given in the same part of the Bulletin as well as to the other prescribed serial publications (Constitution Art. 12b; Bull. zool. Nom. 31: 97) and to seven entomological serials.

The proposals were supported by Dr. K. Christiansen (Grinnell College, Iowa) and by Mr. P. N. Lawrence (British Museum (Natural History)).

DECISION OF THE COMMISSION

On 6 September 1974 the Members of the Commission were invited to vote under the Three-Month Rule on Voting Paper (74)14 either for or against the proposals set out in *Bull. zool. Nom.* 29: 163. At the close of the prescribed voting period on 6 December 1974 the state of the voting was as follows:

Affirmative votes—seventeen (17), received in the following order: Melville, Holthuis, Eisenmann, Vokes, Lemche, Willink, Simpson, Mayr, Rohdendorf, Tortonese, Habe, Binder, Bayer, Heppell, Nye, Alvarado, Ride

Negative votes—none (0)

On Leave of Absence-one (1): Brinck

Late votes—four (4): Corliss (Abstention), Dupuis (Abstention), Sabrosky (For), Starobogatov (For)

Voting Papers not returned—four (4): Munroe, Kraus, Erben, Bernardi. The following comments were made by Commissioners in returning their votes:



1976. "Opinion 1042." *The Bulletin of zoological nomenclature* 32, 212–2.

View This Item Online: https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/item/44474

Permalink: https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/partpdf/26951

Holding Institution

Natural History Museum Library, London

Sponsored by

Natural History Museum Library, London

Copyright & Reuse

Copyright Status: In copyright. Digitized with the permission of the rights holder.

Rights Holder: International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature

License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/

Rights: https://biodiversitylibrary.org/permissions

This document was created from content at the **Biodiversity Heritage Library**, the world's largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. Visit BHL at https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org.