OPINION 1513

Synapturanus Carvalho, 1954 (Amphibia, Anura): Synapturanus mirandaribeiroi Nelson & Lescure, 1975 designated as the type species

Ruling

(1) Under the plenary powers all previous designations of type species for the nominal genus *Synapturanus* Carvalho, 1954 are hereby set aside and *Synapturanus mirandaribeiroi* Nelson & Lescure, 1975 is designated as type species.

(2) The name *Synapturanus* Carvalho, 1954 (gender: masculine), type species by designation under the plenary powers in (1) above, *Synapturanus mirandaribeiroi* Nelson & Lescure, 1975, is hereby placed on the Official List of Generic Names in Zoology.

(3) The name *mirandaribeiroi* Nelson & Lescure, 1975, as published in the binomen *Synapturanus mirandaribeiroi* (specific name of the type species of *Synapturanus* Carvalho, 1954), is hereby placed on the Official List of Specific Names in Zoology.

History of Case 2163

An application for the designation of *Synapturanus mirandaribeiroi* Nelson & Lescure, 1975 as the type species of the microhylid frog genus *Synapturanus* Carvalho, 1954 was received from Dr J. Lescure (*Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris*) and Dr C. E. Nelson (*Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana, U.S.A.*) on 28 January 1976. After correspondence the case was published in BZN **34**: 63–64 (July 1977), and was considered by a working party of the American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists. Members of this working party raised various points and correspondence difficulties caused the case to be delayed. Dr Lescure clarified the points raised, and this enabled the Commission to vote on the case. Notice of the case was sent to appropriate journals. No comments were received.

Decision of the Commission

On 1 March 1988 the members of the Commission were invited to vote on the proposals published in BZN 34: 64. At the close of the voting period on 1 June 1988 the votes were as follows:

Affirmative votes — 22: Alvarado, Bayer, Cocks, Cogger, Corliss, Dupuis, Hahn, Halvorsen, Heppell, Holthuis, Kabata, Kraus, Lehtinen, Melville, Mroczkowski, Ride, Savage, Schuster, Starobogatov, Thompson, Uéno, Willink

Negative votes - none.

No votes were returned by Bernardi, Gruchy and Trjapitzin.

Original references

The following are the original references to the names placed on Official Lists by the ruling given in the present Opinion:

mirandaribeiroi, Synapturanus, Nelson & Lescure, 1975, Herpetologica, 31: 394.

Synapturanus Carvalho, 1954, Occasional Papers of the Museum of Zoology, University of Michigan, 555: 17.



International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature. 1988. "Opinion 1513. Synapturanus Carvalho, 1954 (Amphibia, Anura): Synapturanus mirandaribeiroi Nelson & Lescure, 1975 designated as the type species." *The Bulletin of zoological nomenclature* 45, 243–243.

View This Item Online: <u>https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/item/44486</u> Permalink: <u>https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/partpdf/647</u>

Holding Institution Natural History Museum Library, London

Sponsored by Natural History Museum Library, London

Copyright & Reuse

Copyright Status: In copyright. Digitized with the permission of the rights holder. Rights Holder: International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature License: <u>http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/</u> Rights: <u>https://biodiversitylibrary.org/permissions</u>

This document was created from content at the **Biodiversity Heritage Library**, the world's largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. Visit BHL at https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org.